The Health Scholarship

REACT Startup Scholarship

This scholarship supports startup ideas in the health sector that contribute to crisis management following the COVID-19 pandemic. A green, digital and stable economic recovery should be driven by these founders.

The aim of the funding is sustainable business models that demonstrate their acceptance and effectiveness to users and funding institutions.

The Program

The scholarships are awarded jointly by the Berlin School of Economics and Law (HWR Berlin) and Beuth University of Applied Sciences Berlin (from October 1, 2021: Berliner Hochschule für Technik). The scholarship is funded by the European Social Fund (ESF) as well as the State of Berlin.

In addition to financial support, each scholarship includes the use of the infrastructure (see navigation: “Location”) of both schools and their startup centers. The scholarship furthermore includes support through internal coaching teams, a pool of external advisors, scientific and business mentors from the network of both schools.

Even before potentially receiving the scholarship, joining our Startup Now program can offer a high level of added value.

Scholarship application documents will be accepted in German and English.

  • A maximum of three founders receive €2,000 a month for nine months.

  • The Startup Incubator Berlin and Beuth Startup Hub provide you with vital infrastructure, including  workplaces, a prototyping workshop and further labs (see navigation: “Location“) for the duration of the scholarship.

  • Included is the intensive coaching by internal coaching teams, our pool of experts from the industry, scientific mentors and representatives from the business network of both schools.

  • Only here: Additionally to the REACT Startup Scholarship, we grant every startup team an extra coaching budget for external experts in value of € 1000,-.

  • The funding focus is on business models that offer solutions in the field of medical product innovations (e.g. digital health) with recognizable social benefits. Thus, the startup is intended to help overcome the crisis caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • The startup is founded by a team, of which a minimum of two and no more than three people can be funded.

  • The potential scholarship holders are as essential competence bearers, significantly involved in the development of the business model, the development of the product or service, and the subsequent management of the business.

  • The business model is foreseeably aligned towards economic and ecologic sustainability.

  • The company may be not yet founded or not yet economically active on the market.

  • The company is mentored by a professor. The mentorship has to be documented during the application process, no later than at the pre-selection stage.

  • The founders have a university degree recognized in Germany, i.e. Bachelor’s degree or higher.

  • The founders work full-time (i.e. minimum 143 hrs / month) towards their startup project, of which a minimum of 54 hours a month are spent at the provided working space.

  • If possible, at least one founding member has a connection to the Berlin School of Economics and Law.

  • The founder’s place of residents (registration address) is in Berlin.

  • Founders who have already received a Berlin Startup Grant or REACT Startup Grant from another institution or the EXIST startup grant are excluded from participation.

From A to Z

Your way to a scholarship

The application process for the REACT Startup Scholarship is open starting August 5th, 2021.

For the scholarship starting January 1st, 2022, all important dates are shown in the following timeline.

Application Process

Timeline

FAQ

Questions and Answers

Yes, but only, if the registered trading licence, which is linked to the business activity is not older than 3 months at the date of application. Nevertheless it is the easiest, if the company hasn’t been registered yet.

The scholarship requires a university degree. So if you already have your first degree (e.g. Bachelor’s) and are now studying for a Master’s degree, you are welcome to apply. Your application will not be accepted if you do not yet have a Bachelor’s degree.

In order to be considered for a scholarship, finding a mentor from the HWR-Berlin is a requirement. Please get in contact with a mentor from the HWR and pitch your project after your initial meeting with the SIB.  The HWR mentor does not need to be your only mentor. At the latest after the preliminary selection, you should have a confirmation from your HWR-mentor.

No. For the REACT Startup Scholarship it doesn’t matter in which year you have finished your degree.

It is up to you, whether you fill in the documents in English or German. Nevertheless the language of the application documents is German. The pitch in front of the BSS-Jury can be given in English or German.

It is the scholarship holder’s responsibility to fulfill any legal obligations (taxes, social security contributions, health insurance, etc.) that may arise as a result of the scholarship. The legal obligations are not subtracted in advance.

Until November 7th, 2021

Apply now

In order to finalize your application, please download the attached documents, fill them in and upload them, with potential additional attachements. Use the upload interface to your right. The deadline is November 7th, 2021.

The documents are in German, but you can choose either German or English when filling in the form.

In case the upload doesn’t work, you can also send your complete documents to gruendungszentrum@hwr-berlin.de.

    * Pflichtfeld

    • Please wait until the upload process is complete – if needed, retry to upload the documents until the message “Vielen Dank für deine Mitteilung. Sie wurde versandt.” appears. Only after that the documents have been uploaded correctly!

    Supported by

Das Gesundheits-Stipendium

REACT Startup Stipendium

Mit diesem Stipendium werden Gründungsideen im Gesundheitssektor unterstützt, die zur Krisenbewältigung nach der COVID-19-Pandemie beitragen. Eine grüne, digitale und stabile Erholung der Wirtschaft soll durch diese Startups vorangetrieben werden.

Ziel der Förderung sind nachhaltige Geschäftsmodelle, die ihre Akzeptanz und Wirksamkeit bei Nutzern und Kostenträgern unter Beweis stellen.

Das Programm

Die Stipendien werden gemeinsam vergeben von der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht Berlin (HWR Berlin) sowie der Berliner Hochschule für Technik (BHT) und durch Mittel des Europäischen Sozialfonds (ESF) sowie des Landes Berlin finanziert.

Jedes Stipendium umfasst neben einer finanziellen Förderung der Stipendiat*innen die Nutzung der Infrastruktur (siehe Menüpunkt „Location“) an beiden Hochschulen sowie deren Gründungszentren.

Im Stipendium enthalten ist außerdem die Unterstützung durch interne Coaching-Teams, einen Pool externer Berater*innen, durch wissenschaftliche Mentor*innen und Paten*innen aus dem Wirtschafts-Netzwerk beider Hochschulen.

Schon vor einem möglichen Erhalt des Stipendiums kann der Einstieg in unser Programm Startup Now einen hohen Mehrwert bieten.

Die Bewerbungs-Unterlagen können wahlweise in deutscher und englischer Sprache eingereicht werden.

  • 2-3 Gründer*innen pro Team erhalten 2.000 Euro (brutto) pro Monat pro Person für 9 Monate.

  • Der Startup Incubator Berlin und der Startup Hub der BHT stellen Arbeitsplätze, Werkstätten, Labs und weitere Infrastruktur (siehe Menü: „Location“) im Förderzeitraum zur Verfügung

  • Inklusive ist die Begleitung durch interne Coaching-Teams, den Pool externer Berater*innen, durch wissenschaftliche Mentor*innen und Paten/Patinnen aus dem Wirtschafts-Netzwerk beider Hochschulen.

  • NUR BEI UNS: Zusätzlich zum REACT Startup Stipendium gibt es pro Startup-Team ein Extra-Budget für externes Fachcoaching im Wert von 1.000€.

  • Förderschwerpunkte sind Geschäftsmodelle, die Lösungen im Bereich medizinischer Produkt-Innovationen (z.B. Digital Health) mit erkennbarem gesellschaftlichen Nutzen bieten. Damit soll das Startup zur Krisenbewältigung im Zusammenhang mit der COVID-19-Pandemie beitragen.

  • Bei der Gründung handelt es sich um eine Teamgründung, d.h. mindestens 2 Personen und max. 3 Personen können gefördert werden.

  • Die potenziellen Stipendiat*innen sind als wesentliche Kompetenzträger*innen maßgeblich an der Erarbeitung des Geschäftsmodells, der Entwicklung des Produktes bzw. der Dienstleistung und der späteren Geschäftsführung beteiligt.

  • Das Geschäftsmodell ist absehbar auf ökonomische und ökologische Nachhaltigkeit ausgerichtet.

  • Das Unternehmen soll noch nicht gegründet oder noch nicht wirtschaftlich am Markt tätig sein.

  • Das Team wird durch eine*n Professor*in als Mentor*in begleitet. Die Mentorenschaft ist im Rahmen der Bewerbung spätestens nach der Vorauswahl nachzuweisen.

  • Die Gründer*innen haben einen in Deutschland anerkannten Hochschulabschluss, d.h. mindestens einen Bachelor.

  • Die Gründer*innen arbeiten in Vollzeit an ihrem Gründungsvorhaben (d.h. mindestens 143 Stunden pro Monat), davon mindestens 54 Stunden pro Monat vor Ort an ihrem zur Verfügung gestellten Arbeitsplatz.

  • Nach Möglichkeit hat mindestens ein Mitglied des Gründungsteams Bezug zur HWR Berlin.

  • Der Wohnort (Meldeadresse) aller Gründer*innen liegt in Berlin.

  • Gründer*innen, die bereits mit einem Berliner Startup Stipendium oder einem REACT Startup Stipendium eines anderen Anbieters bzw. dem EXIST-Gründerstipendium gefördert wurden, sind von der Teilnahme ausgeschlossen.

Von A bis Z

Dein Weg zur Förderung

Bewerbungen für das REACT Startup Stipendium sind ab dem 5. August 2021 möglich.

Für das Stipendium ab dem 1. Januar 2022 sind alle wichtigen Termine der folgenden Timeline zu entnehmen.

Bewerbungsverfahren

Timeline

FAQ

Fragen und Antworten

Ja. Allerdings nur, wenn das „Datum des Beginns der angemeldeten Tätigkeit“ laut Gewerbeschein zum Zeitpunkt der Abgabe der Bewerbung noch nicht länger als drei Monate zurückliegt. Wenn das Unternehmen noch nicht gegründet wurde, ist es am einfachsten.

Das Stipendium setzt ein abgeschlossenes Hochschulstudium voraus. Es ist nicht möglich, neben dem Vollzeit-Stipendium zu studieren und z.B. den Master zu machen. Hast du noch keinen entsprechenden Abschluss, ist eine Stipendienteilnahme leider nicht möglich. Der Nachweis eines internationalen Abschlusses muss in verständlicher Weise erbracht werden.

Födervoraussetzung ist ein*e Mentor*in der HWR. Bitte nehmt mit dem/der Mentor*in eurer Wahl ggf. erst nach unserem Erstgespräch Kontakt auf und pitcht euer Projekt. Der/die HWR Mentor*in muss nicht euer*e ausschließliche*r Mentor*in sein. Spätestens nach der Vorauswahl müsst ihr die Mentoren-Zusage vorlegen.

Nein. Für das REACT Startup Stipendium spielt es keine Rolle, wie lange eure Studienabschlüsse zurückliegen.

Es steht euch frei, die Unterlagen in englischer oder deutscher Sprache einzureichen. Der Pitch vor der Auswahl-Jury darf in englischer oder deutscher Sprache gehalten werden.

Das Stipendium wird als Brutto-Betrag ausgezahlt. Die Erfüllung von gesetzlichen Pflichten (Steuern, Sozialversicherungsbeiträge, Krankenversicherungen etc.), die sich als Folge des Stipendiums ggfs. ergeben können, obliegt dem/der Stipendiat*in. Wir empfehlen dringend und frühzeitig ein klärendes Gespräch mit eurem/eurer Steuerberater*in.

Bis zum 7. November 2021

Jetzt bewerben

Um Deine Bewerbung abzuschließen, lade Dir bitte die folgenden Musterdokumente herunter, fülle sie aus und lade sie – ggf. mit weiteren hinzugefügten Anlagen – über die nebenstehende Bewerbungsmaske bis spätestens zum 7. November 2021 wieder hoch.

Sollte der Upload nicht funktionieren, kannst du deine Unterlagen vollständig auch an gruendungszentrum@hwr-berlin.de senden.

    * Pflichtfeld

    • Bitte lass den Sendevorgang komplett abschließen und wiederhole ihn wenn nötig so lange, bis „Vielen Dank für deine Mitteilung. Sie wurde versandt.“ auf dem Bildschirm angezeigt wird, erst dann sind Deine Unterlagen versandt worden.

    Gefördert durch

    Logo Europäische Union