With the Make It Lean Contest, the Startup Incubator Berlin promotes and awards innovative startup ideas that are implemented using the lean method.

The total prize money is 13.000 euros.Places 1 to 3 from the contest will be awarded.In addition, two special prizes will be awarded: the “best lean startup” and a startup with particular relevance for the software sector.

Who is the competition aimed at?

Young startups with an academic background who are or want to implement their startup project using the lean method. Startups in the pre-foundation phase and companies up to a year after foundation are permitted. Startups in the following categories can apply: #Social, #Food, #Hardware & #Software.

Produzent: Samson Schneidermann | Regie: Shai Hoffmann | Musik: Kadent

#Schedule Make It Lean Contest 2020/21

In 4 steps to victory

1 September – 6 December 2020

Do you have a start-up idea or are you working on a business model for an existing start-up (foundation no older than 1 year)? Also, do you or one of your teammates have an academic background? Then take part in the startup competition Make It Lean Contest 2020/21.

In order to take part in the competition, you need a startup idea based on the lean method. On the other hand, you have to create a meaningful video about your startup idea and present your team and the application of the lean startup method in your business model.

If you have little or no use of the term lean startup, then you should come to the Lean Method workshop series. In this workshop you will receive an introduction to the lean startup method and you will learn how to develop your idea into a first prototype.

If you are already working according to the lean startup method, then you are very welcome to attend the workshop series a little later. At the end of the series, the business model will be further developed and you will learn more about hypothesis testing and Lean UX. Please inform the responsible coach in advance if you only want to participate in the last part of the workshop series.
So that you can then promote your video well, you will learn a few tips and tricks in the marketing workshop on how to achieve maximum output with a small input.

Participation in the workshop pitch video (5 November 2020) is available to you so that not only your start-up idea is further developed in the best possible way, but you can also create an optimal competition video. Within this workshop you will receive tips for practice-oriented approaches for a cost-effective creation of a convincing pitch video as well as tips for an optimal communication strategy.

If you have participated in all workshops and created a pitch video, we will continue to support you. Because there is the possibility of receiving individual feedback from the workshop coaches. They will give you feedback on the presentation of your business model and the lean startup method. You will then have enough time to revise your video so that you can submit your application for the Make It Lean Contest 2020/21 by January 3, 2021.

7 December 2020 – 3 January 2021

During this period you should work extensively on your pitch video. The video is a condition of participation for the Make It Lean Contest 2020/21 and is required as a submission for your application for the competition. The video can be a maximum of 3 minutes. In order to get among the first places, we recommend that you create a creative video. Imagine that you want to convince someone unknown of your startup idea with the video and at the same time show how you apply the lean startup method in your project.

Criteria for your application video:

  • Content: Presentation of the idea, intro of the team, lean method
  • Video length: maximum 3 minutes
  • Video language: German (preferably with English subtitles) or English (preferably with German subtitles)
  • Upload to Youtube or Vimeo (password can be provided until the competition starts)

So that the video can also be seen and rated, each admitted participant receives a subpage on our competition website. Your application video will then also be integrated on this page. You also have the option of uploading pictures of your project or team and a description. You can also link your website and social networks.

In order to be optimally prepared for the competition and to reach the maximum number of supporters, you should prepare appropriate marketing campaigns for your competition project. This particularly includes contributions, links, etc. in the social networks (e.g. Facebook, Instagram, Twitter), but also the cover letter from all those contacts who can support you in promoting your competition video and in the voting.

11 January – 1 February 2021

Now it’s time to “step on the gas” and collect likes! This phase is about convincing viewers and your community of your pitch video. Whoever clicks the Like button under your video is convinced. The three videos with the most likes come in first three places and receive prize money totaling € 10,000. The prizes are staggered as follows: 1st place: € 5,000, 2nd place: € 3,000, 3rd place: € 2,000.

To avoid attempted fraud, the overview of the voting is not displayed live. A current status will only be published halfway through the competition period (January 22nd, 2021). This overview enables you to react to your campaign and, if necessary, to promote it again more intensively. The overview will then be removed again and will only be made public on the last day of the competition (02/01/2021). The competition ends at 6 p.m. The three pitch videos with the most supporters win the competition and receive a total of € 10,000 in prize money.

You can see what your profile page will look like at our previous year’s winner Cabin Experience:

Profile

11 February 2021

All participants in the competition are invited to the final event. In addition, a jury made up of economic and political representatives of the Berlin ecosystem and the University of Economics and Law will be present.

At the award ceremony, the three winners of the competition will be honored and the award ceremony will take place.
In addition to the competition prizes, two special prizes will be awarded on the evening. This means that all participants who have not made it into the top three by then will have another opportunity to win one of the two special prizes.
The Lean Special Prize is decided by the audience and the jury. For this purpose, participants from the competition are selected and the opportunity is offered to pitch their start-up idea on stage in 3 minutes. The founding idea, which in the opinion of the audience and the jury, best uses the lean method within its startup, receives the special prize of € 3,000.

The second special award goes to a startup that has implemented software development in a special way. Both B2C and B2B startups are considered. The prize is fee-free processing credits of € 50,000 for using the online payment processor Stripe, Inc.

This is followed by invitations to networking and dining. A warm buffet as well as alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks will round off the evening.

All participants in the competition will automatically be given a spot on the guest list for the final event. If you are not going to take part in the contest, but would like to be there at the final event, then apply now for a place on the guest list.

NAME *
EMAIL ADRESSE *
STATUS *

Design by startupmario.com

#Build, Measure, Learn

What does lean mean?

If you are unsure what exactly lies behind the Lean Startup Method, we strongly recommend that you take a look at our toolbox! There you will find tools that will help you both for the competition and for your startup life!

Startup toolbox

#forpreparation

Our experts

Norman Nemitz

Norman Nemitz

© Anja Harnisch

I am a tried and tested consultant, lean startup coach and certified Design Thinking Professional from the HPI School of Design Thinking. I help teams to practice a change of perspective and to make big leaps without major processes – so that problems become ideas and ideas become sustainable solutions.

As a facilitator, moderator and sparring partner, I accompany teams – from startups, hidden champions, to DAX corporations – in their diverse innovation and change processes at eye level. I ask questions, strengthen visual and playful collaboration, peer learning and creative problem solving in a team.

Shai Hoffmann

Shai Hoffmann

© Peter van Heesen

I’m a social entrepreneur, activist, and crowdfunding series starter. As (co-) initiator of various projects, such as Karma Classics, Bus of Encounters, Democracy Bus and currently Israel-Palestine educational videos I can convey to you what is important in communication, especially in your pitch video.

In my workshop I will teach you how to work out a captivating story, which equipment you can use to create the video and which questions you should definitely not leave unanswered in the pitch video.

I’m looking forward to you and above all: your idea!

Armand Lidtke

Armand Lidtke

Hi, I’m your marketing consultant for content marketing & social media.

Countless launches and campaigns have taught me what good storytelling can do and I want to pass this knowledge on to you. And at least since I founded my own creative agency (www.tropen.com), my heart burns for team spirit & entrepreneurship.

In the workshop I will help you to promote your videos in such a way that as many people as possible see them and really want to vote for you.

How it works? With eye-catching images, clever texts and a few tips & hacks. You will use social media via learning by doing so that you get the best output for your campaign. I’m happy for that!

DATE

Lean workshop series: 7 – 9 October 2020, 10:00h – 17:00h

Expert feedback: 10 – 15 December 2020; online

DATE

Worskshop Pitch video (Date has changed!): 5 November 2020, 14:00h – 18:00h

Expert feedback: 10 – 15 December 2020; online

DATE

Marketing workshop: 3 December 2020, 14.00h – 18.00h

FAQ

Questions & answers

You can be in the pre-founding phase with your startup or have already founded it – both are ok.

To participate in our competition, your company cannot be older than one year.

Yes! We value the following points:

  • Problem-solution fit
  • Hypotheses testing
  • Minimum viable product
  • Agile
  • Iterative approach
  • Build measure learn
  • Business model (Lean Canvas/Business Model Canvas)

Contact

Stephan Meyer-Brehm

Stephan Meyer-Brehm

E: stephan.meyer-brehm@hwr-berlin.de

T: +49 (0)30 30877-1657

Sponsors

Media partners

Mit dem Make It Lean Contest fördert und prämiert der Startup Incubator Berlin innovative Startup Ideen, die nach der Lean-Methode umgesetzt werden.

Das Preisgeld liegt bei insgesamt 13.000 Euro. Prämiert werden die Plätze 1 bis 3 aus dem Contest. Außerdem werden zwei Sonderpreise vergeben: Prämiert werden dabei das „Beste Lean-Startup“ und ein Startup mit besonderer Relevanz für den Softwarebereich.

An wen richtet sich der Wettbewerb?

Junge Startups mit akademischen Hintergrund, die ihr Gründungsvorhaben nach der Lean-Methode umsetzen oder umsetzen wollen. Zugelassen sind Startups in der Vorgründungsphase und Unternehmen bis maximal ein Jahr nach Gründung. Startups folgender Kategorien können sich bewerben: #Social, #Food, #Hardware & #Software.

Produzent: Samson Schneidermann | Regie: Shai Hoffmann | Musik: Kadent

#Ablauf Make It Lean Contest 2020/21

In 4 Schritten zum Sieg

1. September – 6. Dezember 2020

Du hast eine Gründungsidee oder arbeitest an einem Geschäftsmodell eines bereits existierenden Startups (Gründung nicht älter als 1 Jahr)? Außerdem besitzt du bzw. einer deiner TeamkollegInnen einen akademischen Hintergrund? Dann mach mit beim Startup-Wettbewerb Make It Lean Contest 2020/21.

Um an dem Wettbewerb teilzunehmen, benötigst du zum einen eine Gründungsidee, die nach der Lean-Methode aufgebaut wird. Zum anderen musst du ein aussagekräftiges Video über deine Gründungsidee erstellen und dein Team, sowie die Anwendung der Lean-Startup Methode in deinem Geschäftsmodell vorstellen.

Falls du mit dem Begriff Lean-Startup bisher noch nichts oder nur wenig anfangen kannst, dann solltest du an unserer „Lean Workshop Series“  (07.-09.10.2020) teilnehmen. In diesem dreitägigen Workshop erhältst du eine gründliche Einführung in die Lean-Startup Methode, und du erfährst wie du deine Gründungsidee zu einem ersten Prototypen weiterentwickeln kannst.

Wenn du bereits nach der Lean-Startup Methode arbeitest, dann bist du herzlich willkommen, etwas später der Workshop-Reihe beizuwohnen. Zum Ende der Reihe wird das Geschäftsmodell weiter entwickelt und du lernst mehr über Hypothesen-Testen und das Lean UX. Bitte informiere den zuständigen Coach im Vorhinein darüber, wenn du nur am letzten Teil der Workshop-Reihe partizipieren möchtest.

Damit nicht nur deine Gründungsidee bestmöglich weiterentwickelt wird, sondern du auch ein optimales Wettbewerbs-Video erstellen kannst, steht dir die Teilnahme am Workshop/Webinar Pitch-Video (29.10.2020) zur Verfügung. Innerhalb dieses Workshops erhältst du Tipps für praxisorientierte Ansätze für eine kostengünstige Erstellung eines überzeugenden Pitch-Videos sowie Hinweise für eine optimale Kommunikationsstrategie.

Damit du im Anschluss dein Video auch gut promoten kannst, erfährst du im Marketing-Workshop (03.12.2020) ein paar Kniffe und Tricks, wie du mit kleinem Input maximalen Output erreichst.

Wenn du an allen Workshops teilgenommen und ein Pitch-Video erstellt hast, unterstützen wir dich weiter. Denn es besteht die Möglichkeit ein individuelles Feedback von den Workshop-Coaches (10.-15.12.2020) zu erhalten. Diese werden dir Rückmeldung zu der Darstellung deines Geschäftsmodells und der Lean-Startup Methode geben. Im Anschluss daran hast du noch einmal genügend Zeit dein Video zu überarbeiten, um dann rechtzeitig deine Bewerbung für den Make It Lean Contest 2020/21 bis zum 3. Januar 2021 einzureichen.

7. Dezember 2020 – 3. Januar 2021

In diesem Zeitraum solltest du ausgiebig an deinem Pitch-Video arbeiten. Das Video gilt als Teilnahmebedingung für den Make It Lean Contest 2020/21 und wird als Einreichung für deine Bewerbung für den Wettbewerb benötigt. Das Video darf maximal 3 Minuten lang sein. Um unter die ersten Plätze zu gelangen, empfehlen wir dir, ein kreatives Video zu erstellen. Stelle dir vor, dass du mit dem Video jemand Unbekanntes von deiner Gründungsidee überzeugen möchtest und gleichzeitig darstellst, wie du die Lean-Startup Methode in deinem Projekt anwendest.

Kriterien für dein Bewerbungsvideo:

  • Inhalt: Vorstellung der Idee, Intro des Teams, Lean-Methode
  • Videolänge maximal 3 Minuten
  • Videosprache: Deutsch (gerne mit englischem Untertitel) oder Englisch (gerne mit deutschem Untertitel)
  • Upload auf Youtube oder Vimeo (gerne mit Passwort belegt, bis der Wettbewerb startet)

Damit das Video auch gesehen und bewertet werden kann, erhält jede/r zugelassene Teilnehmer/in eine Unterseite auf unserer Wettbewerbs-Website. Auf dieser Seite wird dann auch dein Bewerbungsvideo eingebunden. Zusätzlich hast du auch die Möglichkeit Bilder von deinem Projekt oder dem Team und einen Beschreibungstext hochzuladen. Außerdem kannst du deine Website und sozialen Netzwerke verlinken.

Damit du optimal auf den Wettbewerb vorbereitet bist und eine maximale Zahl an Unterstützern erreichst, solltest du entsprechende Marketing-Kampagnen für dein Wettbewerbs-Projekt vorbereiten. Dazu zählen besonders Beiträge, Verlinkungen o.ä. in den sozialen Netzwerken (z.B. Facebook, Instagram, Twitter), aber auch das Anschreiben all jener Kontakte, die dich bei der Bekanntmachung deines Wettbewerbs-Videos sowie beim Voting unterstützen können.

11. Januar – 1. Februar 2021

Nun heißt es „Gas geben“ und Likes sammeln! In dieser Phase geht es darum, die Zuschauer sowie deine Community von deinem Pitch-Video zu überzeugen. Überzeugt ist, wer den Like-Button unter deinem Video anklickt. Die drei Videos mit den meisten Likes kommen auf die ersten drei Plätze und erhalten ein Preisgeld in Höhe von insgesamt 10.000,- €. Die Gewinne staffeln sich wie folgt: 1. Platz: 5.000,- €, 2. Platz: 3.000,- €, 3. Platz: 2.000,- €. Hinzu kommen die beiden Sonderpreise im Wert von zusammen 3.000,- €.

Um Betrugsversuche zu vermeiden, wird die Übersicht der Abstimmung nicht live angezeigt. Es wird erst nach der Hälfte der Wettbewerbszeit (22.01.2021) ein aktueller Stand veröffentlicht. Diese Übersicht ermöglicht dir, auf deine Kampagne zu reagieren und diese ggf. noch einmal verstärkt zu bewerben. Danach wird die Übersicht wieder entfernt und erst am letzten Tag des Wettbewerbs (01.02.2021) öffentlich gemacht. Um 18.00 Uhr endet der Wettbewerb.

Wie deine Profilseite aussehen wird, kannst du dir exemplarisch bei unserem Vorjahressieger Cabin Experience anschauen:

Zum Profil

11. Februar 2021

Die Preisverleihung wird gemäß den Regelungen der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht Berlin durchgeführt, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt bezüglich der Eindämmung von COVID-19 (Betrieb unter Pandemiebedingungen) für öffenliche Veranstaltungen gelten. Aktuelle Informationen dazu unter: https://www.hwr-berlin.de/aktuelles/coronavirus/

Eine möglichst umfassende persönliche Präsenz wird angestrebt, im erforderlichen Umfang wird die Veranstaltung online durchgeführt.

Zur Abschlussveranstaltung werden alle Teilnehmenden des Wettbewerbs eingeladen. Darüber hinaus wird eine Jury anwesend sein, die sich aus wirtschaftlichen und politischen Vertreterinnen und Vertretern des Berliner Startup-Ökosystems sowie der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht zusammensetzt.

Bei der Preisverleihung werden die drei Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner des Wettbewerbs geehrt und die Preisübergabe findet statt.
Zusätzlich zu den Wettbewerbspreisen werden an dem Abend zwei Sonderpreise  ausgelobt. Das heißt, dass alle Teilnehmenden, die es bis dahin nicht unter die drei Platzierten geschafft haben, die weitere Möglichkeit erhalten, einen der beiden Sonderpreise abzustauben.
Der Lean-Sonderpreis wird vom Publikum und der Jury entschieden. Dafür werden Teilnehmende aus dem Wettbewerb ausgewählt und die Möglichkeit angeboten ihre Gründungsidee in 3 Minuten auf der Bühne zu pitchen. Die Gründungsidee, die nach Meinung des Publikums und der Jury am besten die Lean-Methode innerhalb ihres Startups anwendet, erhält den Sonderpreis.

Der zweite Sonderpreis geht an ein Startup, dass in besonderer Weise eine Software-Entwicklung umgesetzt hat. Es werden sowohl B2C- als auch B2B-Startups berücksichtigt.

Als Preise winken zusätzlich gebührenfreie Processing Credits für die Nutzung des Online-Zahlungsabwicklers Stripe, Inc.

Im Anschluss wird zum Netzwerken und Dinieren eingeladen. Ein warmes Buffet sowie alkoholische und nicht-alkoholische Getränke werden den Abend abrunden.

Alle Teilnehmenden des Wettbewerbs erhalten automatisch einen Gästelisten-Platz für die Abschlussveranstaltung. Wenn du nicht am Contest teilnehmen wirst, aber gerne beim Abschlussevent dabei sein möchtest, dann frage jetzt für einen Platz auf der Gästeliste an.

NAME *
EMAIL ADRESSE *
STATUS *

Design by startupmario.com

#Build, Measure, Learn

Was bedeutet eigentlich Lean?

Falls du dir unsicher bist, was genau sich hinter der Lean Startup Methode verbirgt, empfehlen wir dir unbedingt, einen Blick in unsere Toolbox zu werfen! Dort findest du Werkzeuge, die dir sowohl für den Wettbewerb, als auch für dein Startup-Leben, weiterhelfen!

Zur Startup Toolbox

#zurvorbereitung

Unsere Experten

Norman Nemitz

Norman Nemitz

© Anja Harnisch

Ich bin praxiserprobter Berater, Lean Startup Coach und zertifizierter Design Thinking Professional der HPI School of Design Thinking. Ich helfe Teams Perspektivwechsel zu üben und ohne große Prozesse große Sprünge zu machen – damit aus Problemen Ideen und aus Ideen nachhaltige Lösungen werden.

Als Facilitator, Moderator und Sparring-Partner begleite ich Teams – vom Startup, hidden champion, zum DAX-Konzern – in ihren vielfältigen Innovations- und Veränderungsprozessen auf Augenhöhe. Ich stelle Fragen, stärke visuelle und spielerische Kollaboration, Peer-Learning, sowie kreatives Problemlösen im Team.

Shai Hoffmann

Shai Hoffmann

© Peter van Heesen

Ich bin Sozialunternehmer, Aktivist und crowdfunding Serienstarter. Als (Mit-)Initiator diverser Projekte, wie z.B. Karma Classics, Bus der Begegnungen, DemokratieBus und aktuell Israel-Palästina Bildungsvideos kann ich dir vermitteln, worauf es bei der Kommunikation, vor allem bei deinem Pitchvideo, ankommt.

Im meinem Workshop vermittele ich dir wie du eine fesselnde Geschichte herausarbeitest, welches Equipment du für die Erstellung des Videos nutzen kannst und welche Fragen du auf keinen Fall im Pitchvideo unbeantwortet lassen solltest.

Ich freu mich auf dich und vor allem: Deine Idee!

Armand Lidtke

Armand Lidtke

Hi, ich bin euer Marketing-Berater im Bereich Content Marketing & Social Media.

Unzählige Launches und Kampagnen haben mich gelehrt, was gutes Storytelling bewirken kann und dieses Wissen möchte ich euch weitergeben. Und spätestens seitdem ich selbst meine Kreativagentur (www.tropen.com) gegründet habe, brennt mein Herz für Teamspirit & Entrepreneurship.

In dem Workshop helfe ich euch dabei eure Videos so zu promoten, dass möglichst viele Menschen es sehen und so richtig Lust bekommen für euch zu voten.

Wie das geht? Mit aufmerksamkeitsstarken Bildern, schlauen Texten und ein paar Kniffen & Hacks. Ihr werdet via Learning by Doing Social Media so zu nutzen, dass ihr den besten Output für eure Kampagne bekommt. Ich freu mich drauf!

TERMINE

Lean Workshop Series (Webinar): 7. – 9. Oktober 2020, 10:00 – 12:30 / Lunch /13:30 – 16:00 Uhr

Experten-Feedback: 10. – 15. Dezember 2020; online

TERMINE

Pitch-Video: 29. Oktober 2020, 15:00 – 18:00 Uhr

Experten-Feedback: 10. – 15. Dezember 2020; online

TERMINE

Marketing Workshop: 3. Dezember 2020, 14.00 – 18.00 Uhr

FAQ

Fragen & Antworten

Du darfst dich mit deinem Startup in der Vorgründungsphase befinden oder bereits gegründet haben – beides ist ok.

Für eine Teilnahme an unserem Wettbewerb darf dein Unternehmen nicht älter als ein Jahr sein.

Ja! Wir legen wert auf folgende Punkte:

  • Problem-Solution Fit
  • Hypothesen Testing
  • Minimum Viable Product
  • Agil
  • Iteratives Vorgehen
  • Build Measure Learn
  • Geschäftsmodell (Lean Canvas/Business Model Canvas)

Kontakt

Stephan Meyer-Brehm

Stephan Meyer-Brehm

E: stephan.meyer-brehm@hwr-berlin.de

T: +49 (0)30 30877-1657

Sponsoren

Medienpartner